to be read

Books I’m Taking with Me to College (FALL 2017)


The inspiration for this blog post came from Katherine Reads on Booktube. Because I live in a dorm room that is meant for two people but that will actually be occupied by three means that I do not have the luxury of taking more than six books to my dorm room. The rest of the room on my bookshelf will be dominated by the books I actually need for class!

I hope to rely on the extensive University of California library resources, as well as audiobooks and ebooks to supplement the few physical books I am bringing with me to college. Also, as soon as the quarter ends (in December) I can bring these back and bring back six more unread books!

kate-chopin

The Awakening by Kate Chopin: I’ve been meaning to read this book for forever (I have read some of Chopin’s short stories and I am obsessed) and it’s small enough that I’ll be able to store it easily in my backpack and in my purse for my commute for my internship.

eleanor-and-park

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell: I had mentioned to a friend that I recently read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and enjoyed it, so she immediately supplied me with Eleanor and Park which she claims is much better than Fangirl. I can’t wait!

life-of-pi

Life of Pi by Yann Martel: I solely picked up this book because of the hype surrounding the movie but apparently the novel is just as good as the movie supposedly was. I picked this one out of my TBR jar when picking out books for college and I am excited to read it.

the-opposite-of-loneliness-9781476753911_hr

The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan: I wanted to include a nonfiction book as well, and I love personal essays so I chose this book. I had bought this book earlier this summer and have only heard good things about it. I know that Emma Watson also recommended this book, so of course I am going to listen to Emma Watson, cause, duh.

amtp_180x278

The Price by Arthur Miller: I wanted to bring a play in addition to the novels that I am bringing. I adored Death of a Salesman by Miller, so I’m excited to see what that’s about.

b908cedc27c670196859ce040d1d9e01

The Sonnets of William Shakespeare by William Shakespeare: Sometimes, after reading hundreds of pages of textbook reading, I don’t really want to read long chunks of text. Poems, and short ones like sonnets, are the perfect solution to this.

Standard

14 thoughts on “Books I’m Taking with Me to College (FALL 2017)

    • I am attending a University of California campus, not USC haha though I was accepted there! Basically they have too many students to house and not enough rooms so they transformed many of the doubles into triples.

      Like

Leave a Reply

